Giving Back

I am learning a lot each week I read and watch videos.  One of the strong truths that I knew, but now have a deeper understanding of is in the Harvard Business Review on “How Will You Measure Your Life?”  Learning how to think will help me to make better decisions in my business and in my life.  We assume that everyone has common sense, or that everyone can figure out something that seems simple to us.  It is important to teach others and be taught.

There are three questions asked: First, how can I be sure that I’ll be happy in my career?  Second, how can my family become and enduring source of happiness?  Third, how can I be sure I’ll stay out of jail?  I found these to be very intriguing to me as a person, who has asked myself at some point in time, the same questions.  The answers were absolutely great and made you understand why.

Answer to first question is from Frederick Herzberg, who asserts that the powerful motivator in our lives isn’t money; it’s the opportunity to learn, grow in responsibilities, contribute to others, and be recognized for achievements.  Answer to the second question is keep the purpose of your lives front and center as you decide how to spend your time, talents, and energy.  Third answer is Living a life of integrity will keep you out of jail.  Do not be succumbed to “just this once” for you now have lost integrity and this path will lead you down the path of being behind bars.

One last item that I have always done and makes me feel good and yet I have come to understand a deep appreciation for it which is giving back.  Giving back is in the book “the ministry of business by Steven A. Hitz with James W. Ritchie, Forward by Hyrum W. Smith.  In Chapter 8, Giving Back I learned that by giving back we are given more for we have shown we can be trusted.  I am not talking just about giving your tithing to the Lord, but in all that we can do to help out or co-workers, neighbors, friends, and family, our all.

Leave a Reply

